Help Seth Thomas #120 strikes too often

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by geiger, Oct 20, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. geiger

geiger New Member

Oct 20, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I have a Seth Thomas mantle clock with a 120 movement I am an amateur and after a little investigating decided undertake (thinking I had nothing to loose) the disassembly, cleaning, and re-assembly of the movement because it wasn't working even though 2 clock repairmen had worked on it after which it ran for a few days, then only for a few hours.
    I didn't do any mechanical work on the parts,, but just cleaned, re-assembled, and oiled.
    It actually runs now! (surprised as to why now? ) but have a problem- it strikes on the hour and half hour correctly, but also strikes once at ~8 minutes before the every hour.
    I figure I must have assembled something in the wrong position or something?
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. Uhralt

Uhralt Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 4, 2008
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the Message Board! Probably your hammer is lifted when the clock has stopped striking. Then, when the clock goes into warning, the extra strike is released. Make sure that the hammer tail is between two pins (and not resting on one) when the clock has stopped striking.

Uhralt

3. shutterbug

shutterbug Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Oct 19, 2005
    Male
    Self employed interpreter/clock repairer
    Iowa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    You may be able to reach into the movement and bend the hammer tail a bit without having to split the plates again.

4. geiger

geiger New Member

Oct 20, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    #4 geiger, Oct 21, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2019
    Thanks for the insight. That is exactly what was happening.