Schatz 8 Day Cuckoo Clock Questions

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Schatz70, Oct 5, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Schatz70

Schatz70 Registered User

Oct 5, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    This is my first attempt at clock repair. I bought this clock used. I took the movement out of the case for testing - the strike side seemed to be working but on the run side the pendulum would go back and forth a few times and stop. The whole movement was very dirty. So I took the whole thing apart, cleaned the plates and wheels, and put back just the run side train. With no oil on it it ran for maybe twelve hours and then stopped. So I put some oil on it and it has been running maybe ten hours. I have three pictures from the back.

Here are my questions: There is a loop at the bottom of the wire coming down from the anchor and the pendulum wire flops back and forth within the loop. Does that look right to you, or do I need to adjust the anchor wire so there is less play between the pendulum wire and the anchor wire? I want to make sure the run side is OK before I put the rest of it back together. Any suggestions on what I should do?

There are a couple of unusual things about this movement - the bird design built into the plates and the fact that the run side is on the left looking from the back.

Cuckoo clock 9 12 2019 001.JPG Cuckoo clock 9 12 2019 002.JPG Cuckoo clock 9 12 2019 003.JPG

2. Uhralt

Uhralt Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 4, 2008
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the Message Board!
    The "loop" or crutch should be carefully closed a bit so that there is very minimal slop but the pendulum rod can still move freely within the crutch without friction. This will improve the pendulum amplitude.

Uhralt

Schatz70 likes this.
  3. Schatz70

Schatz70 Registered User

Oct 5, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag: