Rust form after service? Need advice

Discussion in 'Watch Repair' started by Spartcom5, Aug 24, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Spartcom5

Spartcom5 Registered User

Feb 1, 2016
    Country Flag:
    This is the first pocket watch I have had serviced so I am a completely new to this although I have been collecting for a few years. I had this serviced when it was barely running and cosmetically it looks great but I noticed a few things on the movement.... It looks as if rust had started to form on the one wheel on the bottom? Drying might have been an issue? I also noticed the timing regulator is turn pretty far to slow and I thought it should ideally be in the middle after servicing? And finally it looks like a couple of the letters lost their paint to the cleaning but as far as I know this happens with some watches?
    20190824_172426_resized.jpg

Here is a BEFORE picture
    20190702_212734_resized.jpg

2. musicguy

musicguy Moderator
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jan 12, 2017
    New York State
    Country Flag:
    I can't see the rust but obviously that doesn't mean it's not there. I may be looking
    in the wrong place. Is it by the click? The before picture is a little blurry and the new
    photo is very clear. It just may be picking up damage that you didn't see initially.

How is it running time wise over a 24-48 hour period?

I'm going to move this thread to watch repair where they can tell you
    more about how your watch should have been serviced/repaired.

Rob

3. Dave Coatsworth

Dave Coatsworth Forums Administrator
    NAWCC Business Sponsor

Feb 11, 2005
    Camarillo, CA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I definitely see the rust. What did you use to clean the movement?