• We are aware of the performance issues with the forum. These are due to problems with Comcast's shared lines in the Columbia, PA area. On December 15, we signed a contract to bring a dedicated fiber line to the forum servers. It should take somewhere between 30 and 90 days to install. Thank you for your patience.

English PW roller jewel

CJo

NAWCC Member
Aug 22, 2005
southwest Kansas.
Country
Region
I was watching a watch repair video. It said that the roller jewel needed to be perpendicular to the cross bars at all times. Is this true in all situations. I'm new to watch repair and have a lot to learn. Your input is much appreciated. Thanks

doug sinclair

Aug 27, 2000
Calgary, Alberta
Country
Region
"Cross bars"? By that you mean? Perhaps you mean the balance wheel arms? If so, then it isn't absolutely critical the roller jewel be perpendicular, but it should be close.

Smudgy

May 20, 2003
Country
Region
There are some watches that the roller jewel should be set at other angles. Off-hand I can't recall which they are. The different angle makes it easier to make adjustments (it is almost impossible to see otherwise an the several that I worked on).

CJo

NAWCC Member
Aug 22, 2005
southwest Kansas.
Country
Region
What I'm working on is a size 12 Elgin. The roller jewel is not perpendicular, and wondered if I needed to move it and how.

doug sinclair

Aug 27, 2000
Calgary, Alberta
Country
Region
Moving a roller jewel should be done by gently heating the roller table to soften the shellac that holds the jewel, and adjusting the jewel before the shellac hardens. This can be done by using a pallet warming stove, or by using a pair of old broken tweezers which you have heated to red hot at the tip.

CJo

NAWCC Member
Aug 22, 2005
southwest Kansas.
Country
Region
Lost internet service, so hadn't been able to reply.