Restoring the 400-Day Kaiser Grand Universe

Discussion in '400-Day & Atmos' started by Moeby, Sep 16, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Moeby

Moeby New Member

Sep 16, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello,

I am new to restoring clocks. I have just cleaned up my Kaiser clock. The suspension spring is broken. Where can i get the torsion wire replaced? is this the correct part? Kaiser
    Picture attached. S1637New_cmyk.jpg

Measurements -
    113m x 9mm Standard 54 (34)

I have a few problems in restoring the clock.
    1. Replace the torsion wire. Entirely missing.
    2. The screw that holds the 1 of the 4 weights is broken.
    3. I dont know how to balance the weights and set the timing.

Please help.

Thank you.

20190623_162921.jpg 20190821_143148.jpg 20190813_164921.jpg 20190821_143708.jpg

markiemark likes this.
  2. KurtinSA

KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 24, 2014
    Aerospace Engineer (Ret.)
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome to the message board! Can you show a picture of the back plate without the suspension guard? That will help narrow the specifics down for the clock.

Kurt

3. Moeby

Moeby New Member

Sep 16, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    20190820_075635A.jpg

4. KurtinSA

KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 24, 2014
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: