Researching ways people store pocket watches with chains

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by Glenn Jenkin, Nov 13, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Glenn Jenkin

Glenn Jenkin Registered User

Nov 13, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hi all

I am a design teacher and a pocket watch user daily. I have a student exploring ways of storing my pocket watch while keeping it on a chain. Curious as to if some of you guys can answer a few questions relating to this issue. If this is fine with the moderator, I will post a few questions soon.

2. musicguy

musicguy Moderator
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Jan 12, 2017
    New York State
    Country Flag:
    #2 musicguy, Nov 13, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
    Hi Glenn and welcome to the NAWCC forum,

If you are talking about short term storage(overnight) I just put it on the table with the
    chain on it. If you are talking about long term storage, Most of my watches are
    stored without chains except for a few. My watches are in a glass cabinet and it would look very
    cluttered if chains were on all watches(and I don't have that many chains anyway) plus you
    don't want the chains scratching the cases. I also use one main chain for all my daily carry watches.

PS. Glenn post a photo of your daily carry.

Rob

Keith R... likes this.
  3. Kent

Kent Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Silver Member

Aug 26, 2000
    Country Flag:
    Hi Glenn:

Please add my welcome to Rob's.

I use a stand with a glass dome to which I added the brass wire about halfway up the post. The reason for that wire is to keep the watch from swinging (which would affect the timekeeping rate), which is why it holds the watch slightly off of vertical.

There's no reason you can't leave the chain attached and piled up on the stand's base.

Please feel free to ask about anything that isn't clear to you.

Good luck,