Help Requesting guidance for disassembly, cleaning, reassambly, and lubricating

murphyfields

Jun 24, 2020
Westminster, CO
Country
Region
Hello

I am John from Colorado, and I am still very new to all of this. I have typical basic tools, although it looks like I could use a standard flat blade screwdriver that has been sharpened to help with some abnormally narrow screw slots. What do you all use for screws that are relatively wide but with slots that are too narrow for standard screwdrivers?

I have a Seth Thomas Grandfather clock that we found for $25. I replaced the movement (thanks to suggestions in another post) with a Hermle 1151-053/94 and it is working well, and I think I am now ready to disassemble, clean, reassemble, lube, and test out the old movement. I have heard the guidance of the experts here, and I am ready to try things the "right" way. I have been looking on this site and have found guides for the reassembly part, but are there any guides for disassembly? Most of it seems pretty straightforward, simply unscrew or remove e-clips. But others seem to resist the obvious approaches. It would be nice to know if some parts cannot be removed, or if they just need more force, or if they have reverse threads for some reason. Can I just post pictures to ask how to remove some of the trickier parts?

Also, is there a "right" way for cleaning the parts that don't require expensive equipment like an ultrasonic cleaner? Do I just clean with brushes and toothpicks? Special chemicals?

I doubt that I am ready to learn about rebushing, but I might be able to try polishing.

I have found some guidance on oiling, but I am still not clear on if or when some parts might need grease.

I will post pictures later, but I assume most of the experts will be familiar with similar movements.

Thank you all in advance for your suggestions.

- John

roughbarked

Dec 2, 2016
Western NSW or just this side of the black stump.
Country
Region