Reply vs. Reply with quote vs. Go Advanced

Discussion in 'Message Board Help & Notices' started by Harry Hopkins, Feb 27, 2017.

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Harry Hopkins

    Harry Hopkins Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Nov 16, 2011
    244
    4
    18
    Retired Instrument Technician
    Mason, IL
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Recently I have had a strange problem when "replying with quote". I cannot use my spacebar when trying to reply with quote. I thought it might be my laptop so I canceled out and just clicked reply and my spacebar worked fine so just to make sure it was repeatable I tried to "reply with quote" and once again my spacebar did not work.. This time I clicked 'go advanced' and the spacebar worked ok. I suppose this could be some sort of problem with my laptop but I have experienced it the last few times I have tried to reply to someone and each time I was able to get the spacebar to function by selecting 'go advanced'.
     
  2. roughbarked

    roughbarked Registered User

    Dec 2, 2016
    1,866
    2
    38
    watchmaker
    Western NSW, Australia
    Country Flag:
    OK my spacebar works fine. I suspect that it could be your browser. Have you emptied your caches?
     
  3. David S

    David S Registered User
    Donor NAWCC Member

    Dec 18, 2011
    5,795
    20
    38
    Male
    Professional Engineer - Retired
    Brockville, On Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I will check here as well. space bar seems to work. I am running XP and chrome.

    David

    Neat the editor took out all the xtra spaces that I put in. So let's see if this works........ ......
     
  4. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    4,820
    9
    38
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    it happens occasionally to me too. I find if I press return then backspace the facility returns.
     
  5. musicguy

    musicguy Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Jan 12, 2017
    925
    10
    18
    New York State
    Country Flag:
    me too


    Rob
     
  6. Harry Hopkins

    Harry Hopkins Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Nov 16, 2011
    244
    4
    18
    Retired Instrument Technician
    Mason, IL
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Thanks for the replies. I did try rebooting my laptop but am not sure about which cache to empty. I tried Nick's workaround of hitting return and backspace and it worked so I am just happy to have such an easy fix.
     
  7. harold bain

    harold bain Forums Administrator
    Donor NAWCC Member

    Nov 4, 2002
    39,947
    43
    48
    Male
    self-employed in the clock business
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Our tech fellows are into upgrading our message board software which hopefully will solve annoying problems like this one. I' have noted this problem for the last month or so, as well as the "go advanced" fix.
    It is quite intermittent and doesn't seem to affect everyone.
     
  8. Harry Hopkins

    Harry Hopkins Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Nov 16, 2011
    244
    4
    18
    Retired Instrument Technician
    Mason, IL
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Well as far as problems go this one is pretty minor and I just tested the 'return then backspace fix' and it works.

    If it would help your tech guys figure it out I am running W-10 and Chrome. I also experienced this problem while replying to a Private Message.
     
  9. Dick C

    Dick C Registered User

    Oct 14, 2009
    1,252
    4
    38
    Male
    Country Flag:
    A test with Windows 7 and IE11. This works ok.

    - - - Updated - - -

    This is a test with Windows 7 and Chrome...all is OK.
     
  10. MartinM

    MartinM Registered User
    Donor

    Jun 24, 2011
    2,316
    10
    38
    Male
    Medical Insurance Systems Analyst
    El Dorado, CA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Still does it for me on Windows 7 and Chrome (Version [FONT=&quot]56.0.2924.87)[/FONT]
     
  11. Dick C

    Dick C Registered User

    Oct 14, 2009
    1,252
    4
    38
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Martin,

    It is possible that there is an incompatibility between VBulletin Version 4 and the browsers which it appears will not be fixed by VBulletin. Take a look at this support item from the VBulletin site if you would like further information:

    https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/4356452-space-bar-not-working-on-reply

    They seem to suggest that if you change from the WYSIWYG editor (done through your settings) then it may solve the problem.

    From what I read VBulletin shows V4 as being old and the only development work is being done on V5.

    Does changing the editor solve your problem?
     
  12. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    4,820
    9
    38
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    it appears as an intermittent problem. Presumably it isn't actually intermittent but requires certain conditions to come together, no idea what those are though as it always takes me by surprise when it occurs. However I think it only happens on my chromebook.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Reply Reply quote Forum Date
"You Have Insufficient Privileges to Reply Here" Message Board Help & Notices Sep 26, 2017
"You have insufficient privileges to reply here" Message Board Help & Notices Sep 25, 2017
Reply to thread or Reply with quote buttons Message Board Help & Notices Sep 11, 2014
There are inconsitencies in the Reply, Quick Reply and Quote options. Please fix? Message Board Help & Notices May 9, 2012
How to Insert "Quote" in Reply Message Board Help & Notices Jun 16, 2006

Share This Page