repeater maker?

Discussion in 'Complicated Watches' started by Luca, May 19, 2010.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Luca

Luca Registered User

Jan 19, 2004
    As pictured below. I don't believe this is a Patek but I'm not an expert. Anyone want to weigh in?

repeaterwho.jpg

2. RON in PA

RON in PA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 18, 2005
    Retired Neuroscientist
    S.E. PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    It might be as Patek did make repeaters using that style of movement and not all Pateks are marked Patek. However that type of repeater movement was also made by others such as LeColture. There is always a possibility that there may be maker's marks under the dial.

I had the pleasure of handling a watch with such a movement recently while at the NAWCC Library, brought in by folks seeking an ID. The movement was unmarked, but the dial was marked Bailey, Banks and Biddle (a well known jewelry dealer in the Philadelphia area). This set me to do some research on BB&B and Patek. Sure enough BB&B did sell repeater watches with Patek unmarked movements.

3. Ben Hsiung

Ben Hsiung Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Oct 30, 2007
    Re:Really hard to say without any other info

I'd say from the layout it resembles Patek, but it might not be so as I've seen similar layout in CH Meylan and Touchon. It'll be better if you can provide a S/N, and clearer pictures.

4. Dr. Jon

Dr. Jon Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Dec 14, 2001
    Aerospace Engineer
    New Hampshire
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I doubt its Patek. Patek almost always used wolf's teeth winding wheels, especially in repeaters.

It is also a lot different from the Touchon repeaters I have seen.

My guess is C. H. Meylan
    1) The rarely used wold teeth winding wheels but always made very high quality
    2) They liked to cut out the winding bridge to follow the shape of the center wheel.