Repairing a school's Simplex Clocks (Frequency Synced)

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by alanwh, Dec 4, 2011.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. alanwh

alanwh Registered User

Dec 4, 2011
    Hello, I'm new to this forum.

I'm a high school student and I've made it my project to repair the Simplex electric clocks at my school. They are actually rectangular and located inside a wall panel with a speaker, thermostat and phone, which I have yet to see anywhere else. They use frequency synchronization, running at 4,680hz.

The school was built in 1976 and the original frequency generator is still in use and we have a slightly newer 2350 master clock. I'm happy to say that many of them continue to work as designed, but many have failed in a few different ways and I was wondering if someone could give me some help....

Many of the clocks no longer synchronize. They will do the hourly and 12 hour correction if I manually close the solenoid. The ones that don't sync up still have the vacuum tubes inside. What's the best way to fix this issue? I've purchased a circuit board replacement from American Time and Signal which was successful, but for $50 each, it's out of our price range.

The remainder of the broken clocks don't move at all. I have gotten some to start back up by spraying WD-40 into the movements and either just unplugging them and plugging them back in and/or giving one of the gears (located in the circle above the motor) a gentle push. The ones that won't exhibit a weird problem: they'll work for a while but then they will somehow jam(?). The second hand will literally be impossible to move forward with the motor or with your hand. If i turn the second hand backwards and let it go, it will work but then stop at the same place again. What causes this?

Thanks for your help.