Repairing a French Swinging Mystery Clock

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Lincolnhill, Sep 10, 2002.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. For the new NAWCC home page
    Click this image at the upper left corner of this page.
  1. Lincolnhill

Lincolnhill Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 5, 2002
    I am finally getting around to working on my "To Do" list.

I have a nice old French Swinging Mystery clock. I just finished cleaning and lubricating the movement and was wondering if anyone could help me with the following questions as this is my first time working on one of these:

1) How do you set them in beat? Do you adjust the crutch like a normal mantle clock? Mine seems to be very finicky.

2) How far back and forth are they supposed to swing? I imagine this varies by clock and maker, but thought I would ask.

3) The rear half of my upper ball has a small indentation about the diameter of a nickle. Is there supposed to be a counter weight mounted there? If so, how much should it weigh. I think a counter weight would legnthen the distance the clock swings back and forth.

4) Is there anything I should do to adjust the suspension springs? Mine needed to be replaced and I think I did it properly however any tips would be appreciated. Length, thickness, etc.

Thank you for your help.

Michael

2. Lincolnhill

NAWCC Member

Jan 5, 2002
    I am finally getting around to working on my "To Do" list.

I have a nice old French Swinging Mystery clock. I just finished cleaning and lubricating the movement and was wondering if anyone could help me with the following questions as this is my first time working on one of these:

1) How do you set them in beat? Do you adjust the crutch like a normal mantle clock? Mine seems to be very finicky.

2) How far back and forth are they supposed to swing? I imagine this varies by clock and maker, but thought I would ask.