Repair or Replacement of Platform Escapement

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by dwlodyka, Jul 5, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. dwlodyka

dwlodyka Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Dec 30, 2009
    Wells, Maine
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello Friends,

I purchased a Westminster chime, tambour, spring driven clock from ebay. I'm told the this movement is German in manufacture. Unfortunately, there are no markings on either movement or case (except for a four digit number) that would identify the manufacturer.

The platform escapement (shown) is 34mm by 21mm in overall size. An escape wheel pivot is broken. This repair is out of my reach, as I do not have a lathe.

I've seen a number of replacement platform escapements advertised by Timesavers. I have no experience in fitting these replacements and wonder whether anyone can offer insight into this topic.

Any information pertaining to how to determine which escapement would be suitable would be appreciated.

Since I have no experience with these escapements, any information will be valuable to me.

Thank you,

Dennis 20160705_115817-1.jpg

2. doug sinclair

doug sinclair Registered User

Aug 27, 2000
    Calgary, Alberta
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Be certain to count the escape wheel pinion teeth. The tooth count on many is 8 teeth. Any platform that is physically close to the original, and with an 8 tooth escape wheel pinion (if that is the tooth count of yours), should do. When you check out the price of a fully jewelled Swiss platform escapement, or the cost of repairing the one you have, you might well consider shelving to clock if it also requires other work!

3. emhitch

emhitch Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 17, 2009
    medical device design engineer
    pittsburgh, pa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: