Removing the "Green Cancer"

Discussion in 'Watch Repair' started by f.webster, May 14, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. f.webster

f.webster Registered User
    NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member Donor

Dec 18, 2009
    Male
    Service/Restoration of Clocks and Mechanical Music
    Louisville, KY
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have heard it referred to the "Green Cancer". My question is simple: How is it cured?

I am cleaning the bridges of a project pocket watch and wonder the best way to remove it . Do I polish it off, or scrap it, re-guild it, or just leave it be and never open the watch to show off the movement?

Remember I am a beginner with watches and DO appreciate everyone's wise counsel. How do you do it? How should I bring beauty back to these bridges?

20200514_092545.jpg

2. DeweyC

DeweyC Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 5, 2007
    Watchmaker
    Baltimore
    Country Flag:
    I just try to stabilize it. Use heptane or IPA on a piece of pegwood and rub off as much as you can. Then into the cleaner. Repeat if needed or until bored.

Anything else depends on the extent of plate finish lost and the importance of keeping as much intact as possible. Most times the piece will not bear the burden of the cost of proper guilding. But owners are strange creatures.

Paul Raposo likes this.
  3. Jerry Kieffer

Jerry Kieffer Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 31, 2005
    Male
    wisconsin
    Country Flag:
    Typically, If it can not be wiped clean, movement cleaning chemicals will not remove enough of the corrosion to prevent reoccurrence in a short time. In fact, it is unlikely even harsh chemicals will remove all traces required to correct the problem.

In cases such as this, my personal goal is to remove all traces of corrosion and restore original appearance.