Recent Ebay Scam

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by Clint Geller, Jun 29, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Clint Geller

Clint Geller Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    I am a research physicist at a government lab
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I saw the following Ebay listing, now ended, a few days ago:

ANTIQUE 18K GOLD APPLETON TRACY WALTHAM CIVIL WAR POCKET WATCH RARE #281732476670

It was listed by a guy with zero prior feedbacks, and contained only three pictures, all of the case. However, the lot description promised an 18K Robbins & Appleton case, and aside from some wear on the bow, the case appeared to be in great shape with nearly all the engine turning still on it. So I contacted the "seller," asking for the movement serial number and some more pictures. He responded, and told me the watch was a "fully jeweled" twenty size with S# 50,141! That S# didn't immediately ring any bells, although it should have. About two days later, the promised pictures arrived, via my direct e-mail address, along with the message below:

My Appleton Tracy Waltham Civil War Pocket Watch is not on ebay anymore, but it's still available for sale.
    My usual schedule has been changed and I had to go to Spain to take care of some business and that's why I've ended my auction.
    The final price for the watch is US $ 1,500.00 including all the shipping costs and insurance.
    Also I want to let you know that you will have the opportunity to receive and inspect the watch before you actually pay for it. If you are interested and want to know more details regarding the purchase just contact me.
    Thanks and sorry for delay,

Marshall