• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Question regarding Kieninger MSU movement models

nk14366

Nov 25, 2020
Country
Noob here trying to find answers to replacing my broken MSU13 movement.

I see some new old stock MSU01 for $350 and rebuilt MSU02 for $250, while a new MSU13 is $510. They all appear to be the exact same size, fitment, even down to triple chimes and the chime/strike selector from the photos, but nowhere can I find the differentiation among the MSU models.

I suspect all MSU units are the same fit, as the Clockworks site seems to infer (they only use the MSU designation, no numbers are mentioned), so why all the sub-numbers?

Can someone help and tell me if I can use the MSU01/02 as a replacement instead of MSU13? Thank you up front.

enigmadan

Apr 12, 2020
Country
Noob here trying to find answers to replacing my broken MSU13 movement.

I see some new old stock MSU01 for $350 and rebuilt MSU02 for $250, while a new MSU13 is $510. They all appear to be the exact same size, fitment, even down to triple chimes and the chime/strike selector from the photos, but nowhere can I find the differentiation among the MSU models.

I suspect all MSU units are the same fit, as the Clockworks site seems to infer (they only use the MSU designation, no numbers are mentioned), so why all the sub-numbers?

Can someone help and tell me if I can use the MSU01/02 as a replacement instead of MSU13? Thank you up front.
The difference between those movements may be in pendulum length, handshaft length, or both. Possibly in chime type as well. I would think the movements all would "fit" the mounting, but the pendulum and handshaft should match the original, if for no other reason than esthetics.