Problem is with the click

Discussion in 'Clock Construction' started by ernienoa, Jun 8, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. ernienoa

ernienoa Registered User

May 3, 2017
    Male
    Retired
    Illinois
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have been building the American Clock based on the book from Steven G Conover. This is my first build. I have no experience in clock repair, but I have broken one clock and fixed three so far. It has been a learning experience and I am close to finished. It runs very good and is easy to adjust and is keeping very good time so far.
    My problem is with the click. It does wind if you are carful, but as it get to the end of the wind the click spring comes off with the resulting unwinding. I did not use brass wire for the spring as in the book, but used steel spring wire. The photo shows how it is made. So any thoughts about what is wrong.

307115.jpg 307116.jpg

307117.jpg

2. Tinker Dwight

Tinker Dwight Registered User

Oct 11, 2010
    Calif. USA
    The end of the click spring may have a sharp edge and is catching.
    It should have a curl so that it is a smooth surface against the click.
    Tinker Dwight

3. Allan Wolff

Allan Wolff Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Mar 17, 2005
    Male
    Tulsa, OK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: