• The online Bulletins and Mart and Highlights are currently unavailable due to a failure of a network piece of equipment. We are working to replace it and have the Online publications available as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Post your Zoom Chapter Meetings Here

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
TIME CHANGE for today's ANDY DERVAN TALK:
NOW 1 pm PDT, 2 pm MDT, 3 pm CDT, 4 pm EDT

Waltham MA - The City of Horological Opportunity

Please join us on Wednesday afternoon, September 15, 2021 when Andy Dervan will discuss the individuals, the "little guys," who came to Waltham and used their mechanical and/or business expertise in different ways to start a business and/or work in the Watch Factory.
To Join Us

PLEASE NOTE that the time shown on the NAWCC "EVENTS" page is incorrect. The time has been changed to accommodate attendees who wish to celebrate Yom Kippur.
 

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
Coming Thurs, Oct. 21: 4:30 pm PDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 6:30 pm CDT, 7:30 pm EDT
Mark Frank presents his fabulous Astro-Skeleton Clock!

A complex astronomical skeleton clock commissioned by Mark Frank and built by Buchanan of Chelmsford, Australia. Q&A to follow.

Click Here to sign up for this presentation: Display event - ZOOM Astronomical Skeleton Clock presentation by Mark Frank

For those of you who may not be able to attend on Thursday, we will rebroadcast the presentation on Saturday October 23 at 7:00 pm EDT.

We are also recording the presentation and will upload it to our Vimeo and You Tube pages and make the links available.

NAWCC is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: Astronomical Skeleton Clock
Time: Oct 21, 2021 07:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 914 5653 3175
Passcode: 814795
One tap mobile
+16465588656,,91456533175#,,,,*814795# US (New York)
+13017158592,,91456533175#,,,,*814795# US (Washington DC)

Find your local number: Video Conferencing, Web Conferencing, Webinars, Screen Sharing

More details in the attached file:
 

Attachments

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
Coming Saturday, Nov 6, 1 pm PDT, 2 pm MDT, 3 pm CDT, 4 pm EDT:
Russ Oechsle on "Strait's Remarkable Advertising Clocks"


On Saturday Nov 6 at 1PM PDT, Russ Oechsle, an NAWCC Star Fellow from upstate New York, will discuss "The Remarkable Clocks of Andrew V. Strait of Sidney, New York." This program reviews the remarkable melding of clocks and advertising by Strait, who was the progenitor of the advertising clock genre in the United States. His remarkable Sidney Advertising and Electric Reminder Clocks are explored.

If you have not attended Seattle Zoom meetings, you can register at this link to get a Log-In ID.


 

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
NAWCC Chapter 8
Third Wednesday Webinar
_____

The Future of Auctions Amid the COVID-19 Pandemic, Part II

Please join us Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2021 at 4:30 pm PDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 6:30 pm CDT, 7:30 pm EDT when Daniel Horan will revisit some auctions, review the past year, and take a pulse on the current market.
To Join Us
REGISTER HERE
Daniel Horan is owner and president of Schmitt-Horan & Co. and a licensed auctioneer. He has managed auction houses specializing in antique horological items for more than 20 years, and this has provided him with the unique experience of working with some of the top watch and clock experts in the field. As a 15 year member of the National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors and board member of Chapter 8, Dan has given many presentations on selling at auction, appraisals, and how to share the love of antiques with the younger generations.

Since acquiring Schmitt-Horan in 2017, Dan created a specialized and proprietary auction software that assists in the firm's ability to provide frequent online auction and high-quality opportunities for horological enthusiasts and collectors. This software proved critical during the outbreak of Covid-19 and helped keep his company afloat. In June of 2020 during the onset of the pandemic, Dan gave a presentation titled The Future of Auctions Amid the COVID-19 Pandemic. Now that over a year has passed, Dan will revisit the topic, review events of the past year and take the pulse of the current market with you.
Coming Up

November 17, 2021, - Andy Dervan
Two Small Watchmaking Companies Trying to Survive Under the Shadow of American Watch Co.

December 15, 2021 - John Losch
Trustee Emeritus, Simon Willard House & Clock Museum

January 19, 2022 - Sara Schechner,
Curator of the Collection of Historical Scientific Instruments, Harvard University​
NAWCC Chapter 8 | 35 Foster Hill Road, West Brookfield, MA 01585
 
Last edited:

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
Coming Saturday, Oct 30 at 1 pm PDT, 2 pm MDT, 3 pm CDT, 4 pm EDT
Henri Jacot Lecture

mail.png
International Carriage Clock
Chapter #195

The National Association

of Watch and Clock Collectors

Chapter 195 will be conducting an online Zoom lecture at the end of October.
The lecture will be given by Leigh Extence from the UK. Leigh will concentrate on his research into the lives, clocks and working practices of the great carriage clock maker Henri Jacot, his family and associates.

The talk will debunk certain myths and previously believed published 'facts' and also bring to light the importance of Jacot as an early pioneer of carriage clock manufacture. The talk will be illustrated with images from source material.

For US members it is planned to hold the lecture on Saturday 30th October at 3.00pm CDT. This would be 7.00am Sunday 31st for our Australian members which may be too early. The lecture will be recorded and can be repeated at a more suitable time in Australia
.

US Members interested in attending the lecture will need to contact me at:

Once I have received your email, I will provide you with the Meeting Id and Pass Code in a follow up email.

This is a great lecture by Leigh with new material on the great carriage clock maker Henri Jacot. Numbers will be limited so if interested please email me with your details ASAP.

Best wishes,

Stan Boyatzis
President
Chapter 195
 

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
Coming Sunday Oct 24 2:00 PM at 11 am PDT, NOON MDT, 1 pm CDT, 2 pm EDT
NAWCC Toronto Chapter 33 Presents

We are pleased to ask you to join this 2nd zoom meeting of our 2021 / 2022 season. This is a great opportunity to reconnect with members and enjoy a terrific presentation.

This meeting will feature a presentation about


An Incredible Find
A Joseph Windmills tallcase Clock
Presented by Dr. Safwat Wahba

We are happy to announce that Dr. Safwat Wahba will present an illustrated program on Joseph Windmills and a Windmills' tallcase clock (circa 1680) that he found and purchased. Windmills was a gifted Clock and Watchmaker who preceded Thomas Tompion as Master of the London Clockmaker's Guild.

This informative presentation will be of interest to everyone who enjoy the period of early English clock making!!

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 846 7997 7865
Passcode: 361197
Find your local number: Video Conferencing, Web Conferencing, Webinars, Screen Sharing
 

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region
Thurs. Oct. 28, 10:30 am PDT, 11:30 am MDT, 12:30 pm CDT, 1:30 pm EDT
A Look Inside Paul Gerber's Watch Workshop

Greetings fellow horological enthusiasts; It's time to get restarted with our Zoom meetings. For this meeting I decided I could do a side show featuring Paul Gerber and his workshop in the foothills of Zurich. Almost exactly 8 years to the day of the meeting I traveled to Switzerland to attend the first of Paul Gerber's small intimate watch workshops where novices receive a 3 day introduction to concepts of high end watch movement finishing as well as basic principles of watchmaking. For "show and tell" let's focus on dress/formal watches for a change of pace from the "tool" and "military" categories.

Join me as I tell how a total novice from Colorado managed to spend a number of days with one of the most gifted watchmakers in Switzerland.

Best wishes to all,
Tim Schulz, Secretary/Treasurer Boulder Horological Society, NAWCC Chapter 160

Boulder Horological Society is inviting you to a Zoom meeting

Topic: BHS Zoom #16. A look inside Paul Gerber's Watch Workshop
Time: Oct 28, 2021 11:30 AM Mountain Time (US and Canada)

Join our Cloud HD Video Meeting

Meeting ID: 895 6258 2353
Passcode: 070108
One tap mobile
+13462487799,,89562582353#,,,,*070108# US (Houston)
+16699006833,,89562582353#,,,,*070108# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location
+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
+1 929 436 2866 US (New York)
+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
Meeting ID: 895 6258 2353
Passcode: 070108
Find your local number: Video Conferencing, Web Conferencing, Webinars, Screen Sharing
 

Tim Orr

NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Donor
Sep 27, 2008
1,704
338
83
Boulder CO
Country
Region

Forum statistics

Threads
168,898
Messages
1,473,773
Members
48,643
Latest member
john33g
Encyclopedia Pages
1,060
Total wiki contributions
2,955
Last update
-