Pocket watch not working

Lucjan

Jan 17, 2021
Country
Hello, I'm new to the hobby of repairing watches and I tried to repair a Vogt pocket watch. I disasembled and manualy cleaned the watch and then reasembled and oild it. The problem is that the watch does not run and the mainspring barrel for some reason dont wants to turn so the watch cant be unwound and dosent run. Any ideas why? IMG_1.jpg

Skutt50

Mar 14, 2008
Gothenburg
Country
Welcome to the forum....

You need to tell us a bit more about what you have done....

- Did you take the entire watch apart, i.e. you had the mainspring barrel removed, disassembled etc....

- If I understand you correctly you could wind it after assembly but now you can't let the mainspring down.

- Is the barrel stuck or does it move a tiny bit. Could it be that you can't move the click enough to free the ratchet wheel?

- Is there any force on the wheel train i.e. do the wheels want to move or are they all loose?

- Are all screws in the right place. Sometimes some screws are shorter and if you fit a long screw it may lock and/or even damage parts.

Before you do anything else I would suggest that you remove the balance wheel not to cause any damage to it when you play with the rest of the movement........

Reactions: Lucjan

Lucjan

Jan 17, 2021
Country
Welcome to the forum....

You need to tell us a bit more about what you have done....

- Did you take the entire watch apart, i.e. you had the mainspring barrel removed, disassembled etc....

- If I understand you correctly you could wind it after assembly but now you can't let the mainspring down.

- Is the barrel stuck or does it move a tiny bit. Could it be that you can't move the click enough to free the ratchet wheel?

- Is there any force on the wheel train i.e. do the wheels want to move or are they all loose?

- Are all screws in the right place. Sometimes some screws are shorter and if you fit a long screw it may lock and/or even damage parts.