Please help identify this Australian heirloom.

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by cammers, Mar 25, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. cammers

cammers New Member

Mar 25, 2014
    Hi,
    This watch was given to my great grandfather by his grandmother in 1905, but it may not have been new at that time.
    I would be really interested to learn anything about it.
    DSCN3301.JPG

DSCN3312.jpg

DSCN3307.JPG

Please let me know if you would like to see any additional picture.
    Cheers,

2. MrRoundel

MrRoundel Registered User
    Donor

Dec 28, 2010
    So. Cal., USA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I'm no expert on English watches, but I'll give it a try.
    First off, the only Forester/Forrester that I see in Baillie's "Watchmakers and Clockmakers of the World", was in business in London around 1805-1808. However, the watch is most probably later than that. The hallmarks on the case appear to show that it's an 18K gold case. The other marks denote the assay office location (Jaguar - London), the maker, and the year the case was made, which may be 1856 ("a" in shield). Hopefully, one of those more knowledgeable about English watches will be able to shed more light on your heirloom.

3. gmorse

gmorse Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 7, 2011
    Male
    Retired from Xerox
    Breamore, Hampshire, UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi cammers, and welcome to the Forum,