Pennsylvania Tall Case Clock

Discussion in 'Your Newest Clock Acquisition' started by David D'Apice, Jun 8, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. David D'Apice

David D'Apice Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 22, 2012
    Here's my latest adventure, what appears to be an unmarked PA tall case clock. I'm wondering if anyone out there could identify the movement -- I'm guessing it is a Jacob Cope --- an 8-dayer. There is an interesting lantern-type pinion on one of the motion work gears that might help identify. I'm no expert on this type of clock - this is the first one I've ever had. Enjoy the photos. It's a great hobby!

Attached Files:

2. Andy Dervan

Andy Dervan Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Star Fellow NAWCC Member

Oct 23, 2002
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello Dave,

An unsigned movement is very difficult to attribute to a particular maker unless it has some unique characteristic that he used - movement appears to traditional 8 day tall clock movement that could be either made in US or England.

The case is broken arch style that was made mid-coast area: MD/PA/NJ/NY. Pennsylvania cases tended to have very heavy arches and this was one is not as massive so it is difficult to formally identify as PA made.

It would be interesting to examine the dial's back for any information on its maker. Is there a false plate and is there anything stamped on it?

Andy Dervan

3. David D'Apice

NAWCC Member

Mar 22, 2012
    Hi there Andy -- there is a false plate -- and not a mark on it ---- I did notice a Cope Clock on Antiques Roadshow -- and they said that the dialmaker was from Philadelphia --- the paint style is deadly accurate to mine --- even the quirks of the numbers and the way the calendar numbers hug the top of the opening. I'm 99% positive it's the same dialpainter (I've got his name written down) --- but no other marks!

4. Ralph