Pendulum Leader question, should I fabricate?

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by psoley1, Aug 28, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. psoley1

psoley1 Phil S.
    NAWCC Member

Nov 14, 2018
    Male
    Midland, TX
    Country Flag:
    Hi everyone,

I am working on a Kieninger grandfather clock movement with FJK on the back. The movement is missing its pendulum leader.

I have located what I believe to be the correct leader on both BFI and timesavers (see attached photo), but both are sold out. I cannot find a similar leader anywhere. I do have an extra urgos leader (attached) and I was curious if I could simply modify it and use it on this Kieninger movement?

I also understand I may have to fabricate my own leader. Although I have never done this before and am looking for tips on where to begin.

Thank you,

Phil S.

B5F870E1-3E2E-46F8-9EB8-4ECB7D397C7E.jpeg 7BBCFA1C-00BE-4794-BA87-81009541425C.jpeg 22C65C72-405F-4363-B9B3-5EF69F80BA62.jpeg AA17FF27-C398-484E-9069-0E04F031965E.jpeg

2. R. Croswell

R. Croswell Registered User

Apr 4, 2006
    Male
    Trappe, Md.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    The one in your hand does not have a slot for the crutch drive pin. Sure, you can fabricate something as long as it is the right length and has a proper slot for the drive pin. The clock will never know.

RC

3. psoley1

psoley1 Phil S.
    NAWCC Member

Nov 14, 2018
    Male
    Midland, TX
    Country Flag:
    Could I drill a hole in the one I have where the drive pin slot is supposed to go?

4. Uhralt

Uhralt Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 4, 2008
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    If possible by the dimensions of the one you have, yes. Make the hole just a hair larger than the diameter of the drive pin. The pin needs to move without friction but there should not be any sloppiness.