opinions on beginning instructional clock DVD's, please

Discussion in 'Horological Books' started by cazboy, May 1, 2008.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. cazboy

cazboy Registered User

Apr 27, 2006
    Retired!
    Prescott Valley, Arizona
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Sorry if this is an inappropriate board section, but it was either here or in "horological misc." and I thought this might be a little closer to the idea. Moderator, feel free to move this as you see fit.

I've mentioned here before that I'm a clock newbie. A NAWCC member, but I mean a real newbie. But I'm pulling the trigger; I'm eager to learn. I'm putting the final touches on my work area (still need tools and a bench, though).

I am looking for opinions on beginning clock repair DVD's if any of you have had any experience with them. On trusted advice from another message board member, I'm going to start my education with American time/strike movements. Because of that, I would consider a DVD that claims to be aimed at beginners like me, and yet starts off with some other kind of movement like chiming movements, to be kind of inappropriate. I've done some searching on Google, and what I've turned up include:

1. Beginner's Clock Repair DVD Course by this company: http://www.tascione.com/source.htm . I'm a little leery because they say it's easy to learn to repair clocks and watches. I doubt it.

2. ClockClass.com. This is interactive on the computer, and not DVD/video. Sounds interesting, but I wonder how solid a foundation I might get there.

3. DVD's by http://www.ticktockpro.com/ANTIQUE-CLOCK-REPAIR-COURSE.htm .

Has anyone here know if any of the above are any good, or maybe suggest another source? My plan is to do a lot of reading and asking questions (I have a couple of people who can mentor me) and basically use the DVD's as supplemental.

Thanks,
    Doug Haeussler

2. bchaps