• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Omega Seamaster cal.344 Repair Video - bumper automatic

Raynerd

Apr 11, 2004
Manchester - UK
Country
Evening
im a hobby engineer and clockmaker. I've not serviced too many watches but this is by far the most valuable. It's my Omega Seamaster bumper auto and I took a 3 hour video to help me put it back together. Thankfully it worked out well and the watch, that has been sat in my draw dead for two years, is now back to life,

im all for constructive criticism... If you see anything I do wrong, let me know.

http://youtu.be/-GPsijz50LA

[video=youtube_share;-GPsijz50LA]http://youtu.be/-GPsijz50LA[/video]

Skutt50

Mar 14, 2008
Gothenburg
Country
I think you have a talent for this type of work. Nicely done if this is one of your first watches!

You don't show how you clean the parts, how you oil and how you adjust the watch. If you can find someone with a timing machine you might find out more about how successful you really were.

One thing I could recommend would be to use some rubber gloves when handling the parts specially after cleaning, to avoid fingerprints on the parts.

gmorse

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2011
Breamore, Hampshire, UK
Country
Region
Hi Ray,

A pretty brave thing to tackle this as a first good quality watch! The following are some thoughts that occured to me as I watched your video.

I'd add to Skutt's comment about finger protectors, (cots are probably more comfortable then full gloves), to say that they are better worn from the very start, when you're dismantling. Finger marks are better never made than have to remove them later.

It's helpful when dismantling to put associated parts in a compartmented box, especially keeping screws with their bridges, since they sometimes differ according to their position, especially in older watches.