No End Shake on 2nd Wheel

Discussion in '400-Day & Atmos' started by KurtinSA, Jun 30, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. KurtinSA

KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 24, 2014
    Aerospace Engineer (Ret.)
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    In the process of reassembling a Becker. It has nice thick plates...it was built in 1905. Plus various parts have matching numbers stamped on them, so an indication they go together. The clock has never run...not hugely dirty but it needed the usual going over.

I was doing the spin tests of each arbor by itself. All are OK except for the 2nd wheel...it wouldn't spin freely. That's when I noticed no end shake. First thing I looked at was for bowing in the plates. Not readily obvious. I don't have a lot of straight edges, but I have a two-sided 90-degree ruler...I even used the long shank on my digital micrometer. I don't see anything that jumps out at me as a huge bend or variation. Again, these are thick plates...would take a lot to bend them.

I measured the length of each arbor on the first three wheels...not to the end of the pivots but to the shoulders of the arbor. Using my micrometer, I'm seeing that the 2nd wheel arbor length is around 0.1mm longer than the 1st or 3rd. That has to be the problem. Which suggests that this clock never worked.

What's the remedy for something like this?

Kurt

2. roughbarked

roughbarked Registered User

Dec 2, 2016
    watchmaker
    Western NSW, Australia
    Country Flag:
    Either turn the arbor down in the lathe or rebush it's hole with a bush slightly thinner than the plate, sinking it so that the outside is flush with the plate but the inside is recessed enough to give the desired endshake.

3. MartinM

MartinM Registered User

Jun 24, 2011
    Male
    Medical Insurance Systems Analyst
    El Dorado, CA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: