Newbie with a broken dual pendulum clock

BFlynnDO

Nov 20, 2016
Country
Hi all,

I am a total newbie and hope to find some guidance. I admittedly know very little about clocks but was walking through a Restoration Hardware Outlet (of all places) Friday night and saw what they call a "circ. 1900 french reproduction clock cloche". Original price, $2,000, marked down to $280. Why? Tag says "broken". Broken indeed but its such a cool looking piece, I bought it in hopes of repair.
20161118_211715_resized.jpg

In my weekend of learning as much as I could online, I have found there appear to be 2 distinct movements, one for the minute hand which is fully functional, and one for the hour hand which is a mess. It appears something bad happened to the main spring located at the bottom in this brass container
20161120_151246_resized.jpg

My first question is, what is the purpose of this large spring? Its not connected to a gear set, only a wire cable. I am thinking it provides tension but I am having difficulty getting the round side piece to fit into the side so I'm not sure if the container its in got warped or bent or it just has too much tension in it still. The wire cable coils around this thing

20161118_211654_resized.jpg

which turns the hour hand movement. I have since untangled this but still not sure where to go from here. My sense is if I can get the main spring and its housing to work, the rest should follow but trying to find my way in the dark on this one. Any thoughts or info would be much appreciated. I do have a clock repair store in town but I don't know what they'd say if this walked in.

Thanks in advance!

Brendan

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
Welcome to the board.

What you have is a clock with a fusee movement. The cone shaped piece with grooves is the fusee and is designed to ensure even release of the spring power via the wire cable. There is a spring inside the lower barrel and the cover should not be loose but fits tightly.