Newbie here with need of help

davids_1718

Mar 26, 2010
I just inherited a mantle clock and it is not working. I am a great fan of these clocks but I lack knowledge of them. I wanted some help in identifying the clock first in order to see if what I am need of is a quick repair or not. Anyhow I have taken a few snap shots and all I can say is that in the center of the back piece there is a star with a capital J underneath the word UNGHANS. Below the star there is a word curved that says WURTTEMBERG and an A32 stamped underneath it. On the top left corner there is a stamp which appears to be 100. People I AM NOT TRYING to fix this in order to sell it. I want to keep this as long as it is repairable. Please help a brother out and thanks for taking the time to read this.

I just tried downloading the pictures but they seem to be a bit large 3mb each

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Hi, David, welcome to the message board. Your clock was made by Junghans, in the first half of 1923. If you can reduce the size of your pictures in your computer, we woould like to see them.

davids_1718

Mar 26, 2010
Sorry the pictures arent so clear but I took the pictures with a camera phone. It seems that the clock housing was painted. Apart from my earlier inquiry how do I attemp to start the clock. I tried using the pendulum but the clock only works for 8 mins or so by rocking the pendelum 1 time

Attachments

davids_1718

Mar 26, 2010
I have the clock key. I tried inserting it and as turned it clockwise it only let me turn it less than you would like turning on a car. it was very tight

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Make sure both sides are wound up. The right side is for the time, the left for the strike.
Now try setting it in beat.

davids_1718

Mar 26, 2010