newb needs help with seth thomas pillar and scroll with wood movement

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by bruce linde, Nov 22, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. bruce linde

bruce linde Technical Admin
    NAWCC Member

Nov 13, 2011
    oakland, ca.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    as a relative newbie i can take apart, clean (ultrasonic), reassemble and otherwise deal with seth thomas #61/61A, 77 and #68 movements. i have an 8mm lathe w/ collets and 3-jaw chuck, a buffing wheel set up and a bunch of tools, parts, etc... but i've only been doing this for the last year or so.

a friend just gave (!) me a seth thomas pillar and scroll clock with wood movement. here are my questions:

- how does one clean/restore/lubricate such a movement?

- how old do you think this one is? it seems very clean to me... the only visible issue seems to be the repaired top wood piece to the left of the center/top finial

looking forward to your experience and feedback... thx!

smike

front.jpg inside_paint_!.jpg inside_paint_2.jpg inside_paint_3.jpg inside_paint_4.jpg movement_1.jpg right_column_weight.jpg left_column_weight.jpg dial_off.jpg

2. Willie X

Willie X Registered User

Feb 9, 2008
    First, yoand u have a very nice clock there. Its pre 1835, others will be more specific.
    The first thing I do is check for broken teeth on wheels and pinions. These can go unnoticed and eventually cause much more damage. The staining around the pivot holes is caused by someone oiling something that is not supposed to be oiled. If the buildup is serious it can be carefully scraped away with a flat knife blade or small furniture scraper. In general all flat surfaces can be carefully scraped and the curved radiused areas of the wheels can be cleaned by lightly worked 00 or 0000 steel wool. Keep wiping all along wih a soft cotton cloth. All cleaning will require disassembly.