New member with a Urgos which needs a bushing job

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Christopher Dubea, May 6, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Christopher Dubea

Christopher Dubea Registered User

May 6, 2020
    Hello all,

Thus far I'm fascinated by this forum and gobsmacked by the level of experience and advice demonstrated.

My reason for joining is I have an Urgos movement which has a couple of shafts which need new bushings. One is fairly bad and causing the issues at hand and two others could use it if the movement was going to be disassembled.

A bit of history might help. My wife bought me an Emperor Clock Grandfather Clock kit with a 5 tube tubular movement when I graduated from Graduate school in 1983. This clock has been with us since then, surviving flooding after Hurricane Katrina, and a relocation up to Northern Virginia where I now live.

A couple of months ago one the nuts on one of the weights unscrewed enough for the weight to fall off the chain. It hit the bottom of the case with a bang, and upon inspection found the bottom of the case was completely destroyed.

So, I removed the movement from the case, brought the case down to the workshop (I do woodworking as a hobby) and replaced the bottom. That all went very smoothly.

The movement was reinstalled in the case, but it wouldn't regulate. I futzed around with it a bit, but never could get it to regulate.

Fast forward until now, and like virtually everyone else, I've been sent home due to the Coronavirus quarantine, so I've got a bit of time on my hands. As such,. I decided to have a look at the movement to see if I could figure out what was going on.

I built a temporary stand for the movement giving me free access to all four sides and set the movement up.

IMG_20200506_145036 (Medium).jpg