New Haven Westminster Chime Triple Plate how to get this off?

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Infused, Mar 18, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Infused

Infused Registered User

Mar 11, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello, I'm brand new to this hobby, I have recently come across a New Haven Westminster Chime Triple Plate clock and in the process of cleaning it. I know this isn't the best clock to dive into, but its what I got, so learning time:) First thing I did when I received the clock was to see if it runs. the time train seems to run fine but the Westminster Chime whould not work unless I held the little lever then it would ultra slowly go, so I let down the mainsprings and took them out and inspected them. main springs looked good no cracks rust and plenty of springiness. I opened the movement up and on the back plate theirs a gear that dose not seem to come off, no sure what to do,pry it off or hit it with something? I think it needs a new bushing lots of play on the shaft

back.jpg

inside.jpg

2. Isaac

Isaac Registered User

Aug 5, 2013
    Male
    Student
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    If the springs all seem fine, there probably is something robbing the chime train's power on the upper portion (with the faster spinning wheels) of the chime train. Causes can be from worn pivot holes, bent pivots (if a mainspring previously broke, which I don't think happened with yours). The big issue with these movements is that the time train sometimes does not get oiled due to the sub plate being hidden and hard to get at with an oiler without disassembling the movement (and of course they're just a pain to work on in general). Do not pry off the wheel. If it is wiggling around, there is something else that is preventing the wheel from coming off.

3. dickstorer

dickstorer Registered User

Oct 19, 2010
    Male
    Retired Military
    Hampton, Georgia