New Haven Clock

Dewi Clwyd

Jul 20, 2018
Country
As a hobbyist I was interested to find out more about a wall clock I have recently been asked to repair. The owner suspected a broken spring. I agreed to look at it without having seen it.

I include pics of the clock and movement to see if you venerable people can date (approximately) the clock. I have seen online pics of movements that have nuts holding the plates together and wonder when nuts superseded pins, as this might help. It is a 9¼ movement giving an hourly chime. Happily I can report that the clock is running again, it just needed a general service.

I had never seen or worked on a New Haven before so the disassembly and subsequent reassembly proved to be an unforgettable experience, especially the springs!

What can you tell me?

DSC00952.JPG DSC00953.JPG DSC00955.JPG

steamer471

NAWCC Member
Nov 2, 2013
Charlotte NC
Country
Region
Anglo clock. I have several and from what I have learned they are usually American movements cased in English made cabinets. My best guess is somewhere around 1880. Search the term and you'll find many examples. I recently purchased three. All marked New Haven, I believe these were a direct result of Chauncy Jerome's dealings in Europe importing clocks there.

20210414_180856.jpg

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
Usually the US supplied product was a kit, including the dial, pendulum and hands.

From what I've seen, New Haven may have been the top player in this market.

In today's terms, this would have been called 'dumping', or a 'trade war'. It's still going on today but the players and products have changed.

My 2, Willie X

Dewi Clwyd

Jul 20, 2018
Country