Marine: Negus 8 day

Discussion in 'Chronometers' started by Travler1, Sep 3, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Travler1

Travler1 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Dec 26, 2012
    florida
    Hi all ...I'm new to attaching photos of anything onto a forum!! So I hope these shots come out. I was hoping some of the chronometer experts could assist me in determining the English maker of this Negus 8 day ....I have also read a post inquiring into serial numbers and production dates as well as the address of T S Negus ....you might note this chronometer is dialed with Negus being at 102 Wall St. Which I believe is slightly different from the other Negus Wall St address mentioned to date....any thoughts on date of this chronometer manufacture ....thank u in advance

2. Jerry Freedman

Jerry Freedman Registered User
    NAWCC Member Sponsor Donor

Sep 16, 2000
    On my Negus 2 day, I found the initials JP under the dial. I believe that is John Preston. Maybe?

Jerry Freedman

3. gmorse

gmorse Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 7, 2011
    Male
    Retired from Xerox
    Breamore, Hampshire, UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi Jerry,

'JP' was for Joseph Preston in Prescot, listed as a chronometer maker by Robert Kemp in his AH article from September 1981.

Regards,

Graham

4. burt

burt Registered User

Sep 5, 2008
    Male
    McKees Rocks,Pa.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: