Mechanical WW Need help ordering balance

Charlie Ryan

NAWCC Member
Dec 10, 2017
Annapolis, MD
Country
Hi All

I'm a very new hobbyist. I have a Bifora 115/1 with a bent hairspring. I dont have the skill to fix it.

Borel doesn't stock Bifora. Cousins UK lists parts for 115 and 115.1. Is point one the same as slash one?

under 115.1 they have "Balance Complete, Ordinary, Bifora 115 721"

under 115 they list these below

balance complete, ordinary and shockproof, bifora 115 723
balance complete, ordinary, bifora 115 721
balance complete, shockproof, bifora 115 721.1

Which one is likely the correct one?

Thank you

Charlie

IMG_3897.JPG IMG_3672_LI.jpg

Chris Radek

NAWCC Member
Apr 13, 2014
Lincoln, NE, USA
timeguy.com
Country
balance complete, shockproof, bifora 115 721.1
Your movement is definitely shockproof, looks like a diashock setup or similar. So you need a balance with a matching shockproof staff.

I think the 721.1 is most likely to be the balance complete for shockproof. I think if you order the one that says "balance complete ... 723" you may get just a staff, 721 is the swiss part number for balance complete with flat hairspring, 722 is balance complete with overcoil, 723 is (plain) staff only.

The bestfit books have a dictionary at the front showing these generic swiss part numbers.

That all being said, that hairspring looks damaged at the outermost coil only, and with the right technique and patience I bet you could fix it. Pop the spring off the balance, attach it to the cock, and work those bends out. Where there's an unwanted sharp bend sometimes you can fix it by just squeezing the bent spot between some flat-nosed tweezers like a 2a style. You'll know you're done adjusting the outer coil when you can move the regulator and the collet stays centered over the jewel.