• Upcoming updates
    Over the next couple of weeks we will be performing software updates on the forum. These will be completed in small steps as we upgrade individual software addons. You might occasionally see a maintenance message that will last a few minutes at most.

If we anticipate an update will take more than a few minutes, we'll put up a notice with estimated time.

Thank you!

Need help identifying my watch

iserit2

New User
Nov 21, 2022
Country
Good afternoon all,
I am seeking assistance in identifying the movement on my watch. It is a Hampden wrist watch and where to find the serial number. I thought I found the serial number but when I ran the number on one of the online database, the picture shown did not match my watch. The serial number I thought I found was 83464 or 88464. I am totally new to this and any assist you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

All the best,
Tim I

B072936F-C9B4-40F0-A08E-6E52A375F63E.jpeg 978CD35F-A47B-4E03-8773-0C7CC6C77E70.jpeg

thesnark17

NAWCC Member
Jul 11, 2020
Country
Region
Hi, your Hampden watch was made in Switzerland long after the Ohio factory had closed. The owners of the brand sold all the physical assets of the Hampden Watch Co. to Russia, but they kept the rights to the name. They sold generic watches from Switzerland, labeled Hampden, until at least the 1950s.

Much the same thing continues today. If you go looking for an Elgin watch, you can still find new ones in stores! I think they're made in China these days.

Reactions: iserit2

MrRoundel

Donor
Dec 28, 2010
Country
Region
I just happened to have been working on a Swiss Hampden movement over the past couple of days. Mine is in what is called a "Nurse's watch" or "Nun's watch". I believe it is 10 1/2 lignes in size. I believe that yours is a more recent manufacture than mine, as it has an Incabloc antishock device on it. This is preferable due to it withstanding shocks better without damaging the balance staff and/or jewels.