Need help identifying/dating heirloom Quarter Repeater Pocket Watch

Alebrije

Mar 21, 2021
Country
Region
Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum - this is my first post, and I’m thrilled to have found a place bursting with horology enthusiasts!

I’ve been a mechanical wristwatch lover all my life, but I am a novice when it comes to pocket watches...

I recently inherited my grandfather’s quarter repeater, and I was hoping to find out more about the timepiece.

So far I only discovered one hallmark on the stem, and a couple of numbers on the (silver) inner case back lid. Can anybody help me identifying the watch? I’m assuming it’s 18k yellow gold plated with an enamel dial?

Any thoughts regarding origins, date, and possible value would be very much appreciated.

Dr. Jon

NAWCC Member
Dec 14, 2001
New Hampshire
Country
Region
Welcome to this forum. I am pretty confident the regulars will be able to give you a lot of information.

It looks French to me. I do not see any hallmarks but French marks are very small.

aucaj

Feb 2, 2021
Country
I believe it is either French or Swiss? In the early 1800s, the French hallmarks were animal heads. Do you see any marks like that? It is hard to determine the stem mark from the photos.

Alebrije

Mar 21, 2021
Country
Region
Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum - this is my first post, and I’m thrilled to have found a place bursting with horology enthusiasts!

I’ve been a mechanical wristwatch lover all my life, but I am a novice when it comes to pocket watches...

I recently inherited my grandfather’s quarter repeater, and I was hoping to find out more about the timepiece.

So far I only discovered one hallmark on the stem, and a couple of numbers on the (silver) inner case back lid. Can anybody help me identifying the watch? I’m assuming it’s 18k yellow gold plated with an enamel dial?

Any thoughts regarding origins, date, and possible value would be very much appreciated.