• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center will reopen starting Wednesday, January 6, 2021 as per Governor Wolf's reopening mandate.

Need help getting started please

NewToTowerClock

Sep 28, 2017
Country
I am just starting out. One of my maintenance requirements is the care of our county Tower Clock. When I started this job a year ago no one in the maintenance crew even knew how to set the time on its four faces together. I have been struggling along but know I need to educate myself.
I see its make is a E. Howard but how do I find the rest of the details Model etc...so that i can seek reference materials.
Based on the bell motor, type of wiring, etc it was electrified as an update somewhere in the 1950's
The bell is 1884.

I have mainly just been keeping it clean and observing its function until 2 days ago when the main movement motor failed. I have the exact same replacement and I will attempt to install tomorrow. But I fear more issues are to be found.

I feel like a goat looking at a wrist watch. Pictures are rough I know but I am trying to clean it up and give it the home it deserves. Please help me find my way. Dropbox - 100NIKON

bangster

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Jan 1, 2005
utah
Country
Region
I'll move this to the Tower Clock forum, where you may get better feedback.
Brother, you've bitten yourself off a big chunk. ;)

bangster

Reactions: NewToTowerClock

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
It would be helpful to know whereabouts in the world you are situated. If we knew that, it might be possible that someone nearby could help you.

JTD

gvasale

NAWCC Member
Mar 30, 2005
webster, Ma
Country
Region
I'd like to see the motor which does the time keeping. Turn the flash on when you take the pictures.

Warren Brook

NAWCC Member
May 27, 2005
Atlanta
Country
Region
It would be helpful to know whereabouts in the world you are situated. If we knew that, it might be possible that someone nearby could help you.

JTD