My First Wood Works Clock! Jeromes & Darrow 30-hr Column and Splat

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by melikesclocks, Mar 16, 2012.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. melikesclocks

melikesclocks Registered User

Feb 11, 2009
    Ohio
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi folks. I wanted to share my first wood works clock. I've been frequenting the forum for a couple of years now and have 20+ clocks, but none of them are WW and I've been wanting one for a while. I found this for a decent price and took a chance on it. All I have now is this picture, but the stenciling and overall look just "got" me. The description says it's a 30-hour and 35 inches tall. I think there is a plain/or stencilled border around the mirror. I've seen other clocks that have a stencilled portion at the bottom of the mirror. I have no clue as to the operational condition of the movement. Hopefully I haven't bought a pig in a poke, but the unknown is oddly attractive to me. I will update the post with more pictures when I get the clock, but comments welcome in the meantime!

Eric

Attached Files:

2. gilbert

gilbert Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Aug 25, 2009
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Looks very nice from here, congrats

3. R. Croswell

R. Croswell Registered User

Apr 4, 2006
    Male
    Trappe, Md.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Nice looking clock. I'm sure you will enjoy having a wooden works clock. They usually are great time keepers and you don't even need to them except in a couple of places. I would love to see what it looks like inside.

RC

4. melikesclocks

Feb 11, 2009
    Ohio
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I'm anxious too. I know it goes against normal buying behavior, but I like it nonetheless. I will certainly post more pictures when I'm able. I do like that these clocks keep good time and are repairable.

5. R. Croswell

Apr 4, 2006
    Male