• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

IBM My first IBM master

D.P.

Aug 23, 2018
Country
Hello All,

Posting my IBM master I just picked up yesterday. I've never worked on one before so it's a interesting project. It's probably the most complicated clock I have so far with all the extra equipment it came with. I have it cleaned and running right now without power. Needs more adjustment to run perfectly, but it hasn't stopped so far.

There's a lot of information on these clocks it boggles the mind, but mine has a feature I haven't seen posted yet(unless it has. I apologise if it's been covered already). I noticed it has a telechron rotor with contacts attached above the movement which is possibly connected to a correction mechanism?? Not sure what it is. Have any of you seen something like it before?

The clock looks to have it's own transformer installed. Its marked for 52, 40, C, and 24vDC. Not sure what the movement coil takes as it had no markings. Planning on disconnecting the un-needed equipment and running on a wall adapter or a pulser described in another thread. Am thinking of running a few secondary clocks with it some day though.
IMG_20201013_183701.jpg IMG_20201013_183223.jpg
IMG_20201013_183235.jpg
IMG_20201014_143754.jpg

Reactions: bearcat and etmb61

Toughtool

Aug 12, 2016
Panama City, FL
Country
Nice looking clock.
Planning on disconnecting the un-needed equipment and running on a wall adapter or a pulser described in another thread.
You seem to have all you need to run the clock without a pulser. The coil voltage is most likely 24 volts DC and all you need to do is power the mains.