My first clean and service, and it runs!

Discussion in 'Watch Repair' started by rdixiemiller, Sep 1, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. rdixiemiller

rdixiemiller Registered User
    Donor

Jul 27, 2017
    Senior engineer at Toyota USA (Paint)
    North West Ms.
    Country Flag:
    I'm new to the pocket watch hobby, and I immediately found that watch service is expensive, and slow around here. So, I decided to learn the method.
    I've been a hobby gunsmith for 40 years, so being careful with fine mechanisms is second nature. Did I mention guns are a lot bigger than pocket watches?
    So, some Starrett screwdrivers, brass tweezers, a movement holder, and a magnavisor were procured, and I was off.
    My first watch was an EBay special Elgin 291, 16s. I picked up a couple for 30 bucks for the pair, and started. No problem with disassembly and cleaning, pretty straight forward. Reassembly, now that was a learning experience. I lost a jewel screw, luckily I had 2 movements, so I stole one from the worst one (it's been butchered in the past, a parts movement only). After 3.5 hrs, I put 2 turns on the stem and it started up! It had been jammed by a tiny piece of the hairspring collet that had cracked off. Even with a small chunk missing, the watch is doing well, been running a week. I had to set the regulator almost at the bottom of the range, I think the rotating mass is low with the piece of collet missing.
    I used the Silveroid case from the parts movement, as the one from this one had a bad set of threads on the case back. I know, heresy! After 2 days of carrying the watch, I polished the case with some Simichrome, it turned out quite nice.
    I know this is a very common, low dollar watch, but I am tickled to death with it! Now, to start on the Elgin lever set 18s I picked up for $30 bucks! And then the 16s with the 3 finger bridge..........