My Christmas Present

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by ScotSun, Apr 9, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. ScotSun

ScotSun Registered User

Nov 28, 2017
    Male
    Computers
    Newark, DE
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    My wonderful wife gave me this Nagoya Shoji clock for Christmas...

20180407_134743.jpg 20180407_135610.jpg

I am only now getting a chance to look at it. On the wall, it would run for only a couple minutes before stopping no matter how much I tried to get the beat correct so I decided to take it out for a closer look.

20180407_141115.jpg 20180407_141156.jpg

The movement appears to be unsigned. It seems fairly clean, the strike works well. I am still new at this and am still having trouble getting it to run for more than a few minutes. It eventually just slows to a stop. Besides setting the beat, I have also tried adjusting the distance of the escapement from the wheel since there was marks on it like it had been previously adjusted. I think I now have it slightly too far away in this pic but this shot shows the position it eventually comes to when it stops...

20180409_195748.jpg

Everything else looks good but I wanted to get some opinions on the next step. My only other current thought is that the mainspring does not have enough power and should be replaced...

Any other suggestions?

Thanks!

2. wow

wow Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 24, 2008
    Male
    Retired Music Minister
    Pineville, La. (central La.)
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Are you sure you have it in beat. It actually looks to be in pretty good shape overall. Can you get it running and do a YouTube video with a link here so we can hear it run? I find that usually a power problem with these movements is not the mainspring.

3. Willie X

Willie X Registered User

Feb 9, 2008
    Scot,