Solved Music box not stopping

jwhicks

Dec 21, 2020
Country
Hello!
I am new to the world of clocks but I am enjoying it so far. We recently obtained a 1985 Lotscher cuckoo clock from my wife's childhood. I had to clean it, oil it, and replace several parts(weights, chains, hands, and gong). There is cosmetic damage likely as a result of a tumble from the wall. I have been browsing this forum and have been helped a lot by what I have found here. But I have come to the point where I need to ask for help. I have been successful in getting the clock to run, the cuckoo bird works properly, and the music will start at the right moment(that last one was a challenge). However, once the music starts it will not stop until the weight hits the floor. I can see that the pin is misaligned to the hole on the side of the barrel. There is lots of play in the lever, but I think I read that this is necessary. I am not sure what to do to remedy the misalignment. If I hold my finger to the lever then it slips into the hole when it comes around. I have attached pictures to show what I have going on. I thank you in advance for any advice.
Thanks,
Jason
clock2.jpg clock3.jpg

jwhicks

Dec 21, 2020
Country
OK. What I'm seeing happen is once the pin exits the hole and the barrel begins to turn, the pin slides out towards the edge of the barrel. And then it misses the hole when it comes back around.

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
The pin should drop into the hole on every turn of the barrel. But, what actually stops the music is: when the pin is pulled downward about one mm this will lower the short leg into the fan. This is what stops the music. There is never any actual stopping force exerted by the pin in the drum, except the slight pull-in force exerted by the little spring attached to the odd three leg lever.