moving threads to places we can't read isn't helpful

Discussion in 'Forums Help & Notices' started by novicetimekeeper, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I started a thread here because I don't have permission to start one in help.

    It was moved to a section I don't even have permission to read.

    I am unable to answer any threads but my own.

    Reading the other threads before they were moved to an inaccessible part of the forum suggests I am not alone.

    Perhaps the problem could be addressed where we could see the solution?
     
    tarant likes this.
  2. Steven Thornberry

    Steven Thornberry User Administrator
    NAWCC Member

    Jan 15, 2004
    22,086
    1,029
    113
    Male
    Ne’er do well
    Here and there
    Country Flag:
    Sorry, I did not realize that. I don't remember you're mentioning that.
     
  3. Steven Thornberry

    Steven Thornberry User Administrator
    NAWCC Member

    Jan 15, 2004
    22,086
    1,029
    113
    Male
    Ne’er do well
    Here and there
    Country Flag:
    The thread you started about insufficient permissions is in MB Help and Notices. I logged in as you and found that that forum is visible to you. However, the redirect that I left does not seem to work correctly. That needs to be fixed.
     
  4. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    ooh, I can reply to this one.

    I didn't know till you moved it that I could not access it again, but I did find that's where all the others went.

    I did not realise I could see it again if I arrived via a different route.

    It's obviously just a glitch that needs resolving, I was just highlighting it in a forum I could post to as I was unable to start a thread in the help bit. (in fact that section didn't show up at all when I was looking for it.
     
  5. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    For info, I cannot access the threads through help though I can see they are there
     
  6. ClipClock

    ClipClock Registered User
    Deceased

    Jun 20, 2013
    1,593
    6
    38
    Run small business manufacturing equestrian sector
    Kent, UK
    Country Flag:
    Similar, my early morning post got moved to MB help area, but I cant see it because I'm not permitted to access that area it seems.

    All very painful.
     
  7. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    All sorted now for me Sally, hopefully for you too. Moving to a new structure while keeping all of the pictures and posts from the old one is pretty impressive, and it seems to have gone very smoothly once it got going properly.

    It will take a while to get used to it, I don't use a phone for this so to me it all looks a lot of free space but I see the picture handling as a big improvement, though I need more practice.
     
  8. BLKBEARD

    BLKBEARD Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Nov 15, 2016
    759
    24
    18
    HVAC, MECHANIC, CLOCK REPAIRER
    CT
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I'm sure they'll work out the bugs.
    When I click on a photo it come up in a new window at a larger size, but I can't Supersize it as I could previously
     
  9. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    That would be a huge loss, I found that I could make pictures bigger on the board than I could without and as a result found far more detail.
     
  10. KurtinSA

    KurtinSA Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Nov 24, 2014
    3,657
    142
    63
    Aerospace Engineer (Ret.)
    San Antonio, TX
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    When I open a post with pictures, clicking on the pictures opens them up. There's an arrow in the upper right that goes to a new browser tab for the picture I'm looking at. Sometimes clicking on the picture makes it bigger, but that's apparently set by the original resolution that the poster used. But you should be able to use Ctrl + to increase the size of the picture...Ctrl - goes back down. Works for Windows.

    Kurt
     
  11. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    why doesn't reply with quote work?

    Anyway, I have a chromebook at home, not sure what will work for that. The ability to expand pics is a very useful tool when trying to check out a clock for originality/previous repairs
     
  12. Steven Thornberry

    Steven Thornberry User Administrator
    NAWCC Member

    Jan 15, 2004
    22,086
    1,029
    113
    Male
    Ne’er do well
    Here and there
    Country Flag:
    I find it works. Are you using a PC, tablet, phone?
     
  13. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I'm using a desktop here, win 7. I use a chromebook at home I posted from home this morning I don't remember I fit worked then, will check later
     
  14. Dick C

    Dick C Registered User

    Oct 14, 2009
    1,662
    61
    48
    Male
    Country Flag:
    What browser are you using on Win 7....I have Win 7 on a system with multiple browsers and can check to see if I have the same problem.

    Is your issue with expanding photos or reply with quote or both?
     
  15. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    IE 11, I can't do quotes. Have not tried pics yet
     
  16. Dick C

    Dick C Registered User

    Oct 14, 2009
    1,662
    61
    48
    Male
    Country Flag:
    This is a Reply With Quote from my windows 7, IE11 system.
     
  17. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    well that's odd
     
  18. Dick C

    Dick C Registered User

    Oct 14, 2009
    1,662
    61
    48
    Male
    Country Flag:
    It is possible that the team is struggling with permissions. Note that they acknowledge that one cannot sign in via NAWCC.

    Just a moment ago I had access to the Message Board Help and was able to read one entry. Then for some reason I got logged off.

    So I shut down, cleared the caches and restarted and now find that I have insufficient privileges to post or see any entries in the Help location, other than ones that I have posted in the past.

    So, is someone working on the logon function, the permissions, the .... I expect so.


    I also note that I did see that Markus Harris, Director of NAWCC Communications (or something like that) has also run into the insufficient privileges issue.
     
  19. shutterbug

    shutterbug Moderator
    NAWCC Member

    Oct 19, 2005
    43,445
    1,232
    113
    Male
    Self employed interpreter/clock repairer
    North Carolina
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    A typical reply box appears at the bottom of the page. But if you want to "reply with quote" you have to select it at the bottom of the message you are quoting. If all else fails, you can highlight and copy the portion you want to quote, and then use the brackets to make it a quote. You need this format:
    [ ] inside the first set of brackets (before pasting the quote) you have the word "quote" and inside the second set of brackets (after the quote) you have "/quote". Be sure to put the words inside the brackets. Play with it. It will work. Here's an example:
    Notice that the brackets disappear.
     
  20. David S

    David S Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Dec 18, 2011
    7,198
    245
    63
    Male
    Professional Engineer - Retired
    Brockville, On Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    That is not the way it works on other xenforo sites.
    David
     
  21. David S

    David S Registered User
    NAWCC Member

    Dec 18, 2011
    7,198
    245
    63
    Male
    Professional Engineer - Retired
    Brockville, On Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I just did that by hitting reply with quote and then started typing.

    Sorry SB I missread what you were saying. I thought it was saying that the reply with quote needed a work around.

    David
     
  22. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    it works on my Chromebook, I had a feeling it did.
     
  23. novicetimekeeper

    novicetimekeeper Registered User
    Donor

    Jul 26, 2015
    9,964
    651
    113
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    This time I can see it and reply to it
     

Share This Page