Movement Cleaning - What Went Wrong?

howardindevon

Jan 14, 2021
Dawlish, Devon, UK
Country
Region
Guys,

When I had my first complete movement for cleaning about 6 weeks ago, (as a total Newbie), I used a commercial ammoniated concentrate. This was diluted 7 to 1 as instructed.

However, I did not have the most suitable of containers for the job. I ended up dipping the movement one way up and then the other, because it would not fully submerge in the too shallow container. I washed and finally used a hair dryer.

The net result was a serious staining on the brass front and back plates. (See first two pictures)

Today, having bought an Ultrasonic bath, I used the same type and concentration of fluid but at 25 C and ran several cycles in the unit. Whilst the plates are better, they are certainly not without stains. (See pictures 3 to 6)

Chains and wheels done in the same session seemed to be pretty bright and clean. I did wash all the parts , as before, but now also rinsed in Isopropanol and then forced dry with a hair dryer.

Can someone please advise? Obviously, I messed up badly on my very first attempt. However, are these stains now more or less permanent or is there a simple procedure to remove them? Why did the Sonic bath not do a better job?

Best regards, Howard

20210110_214340.jpg 20210110_214446.jpg 20210216_211644.jpg 20210216_211652.jpg 20210216_211707.jpg 20210216_211715.jpg

bikerclockguy

Jul 22, 2017
Country
Your plates are/were lacquered, and the ammonia started to dissolve it. I use Dawn Ultra in my ultrasonic, and have had good results with that. Short of stripping and relacquering the plates, you are probably stuck with the stains. On the bright side they are inside the clock, so they won’t detract from its appearance.

howardindevon

Jan 14, 2021
Dawlish, Devon, UK
Country
Region
Bikerclockguy,

The same thought occured to me - the outsides of the plates are just about acceptable any way and no one sees the insides.