Missing Pendulum

IanJ

Feb 26, 2011
Sittingbourne, Kent
Country
Hello, I just registered on the forum and this is my first post. I just bought an old Smiths K6A 521 Westminster chime mantel clock but it came without a pendulum. Can anyone let me know what type, weight, length of pendulum I need to buy to get the clock working properly?

It may be a dumb question to ask but I'm new to this and hope someone can help.

Thanks

Ian

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
IanJ;534870 said:
Hello, I just registered on the forum and this is my first post. I just bought an old Smiths K6A 521 Westminster chime mantel clock but it came without a pendulum. Can anyone let me know what type, weight, length of pendulum I need to buy to get the clock working properly?

It may be a dumb question to ask but I'm new to this and hope someone can help.

Thanks

Ian
Welcome, Ian! Could you provide a picture of the back of the movement for us? From that we can offer some assistance.

oldticker

Jan 15, 2005
Birmingham, UK
Country
Region
these are usually brass and about 3 - 4 inches lond but you cannot go and buy one off the shelf. your best bet is ebay. these are very common clocks but getting the right pend is not easy sometimes.

are you sure you have the leader - the piiece of brass between the suspnson spring and pendulum? which the crutch fits through? - crutch being the part that drives the leader.

weight doesn't matter too much as much as the length of the pendulum as the length determines the timekeeping. bob on pend is about 1 and a half inches diameter.

IanJ

Feb 26, 2011
Sittingbourne, Kent
Country
shutterbug;534872 said:
Welcome, Ian! Could you provide a picture of the back of the movement for us? From that we can offer some assistance.
Hello again, thanks for the welcome and the prompt responses. Shutterbug, as requested I've attached a jpeg image of the back of the movement and hope you can help.