Mercury Pendulum

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
I am using this mercury pendulum in my IBM model 35. I was wondering if anyone might recognize it and know its origins? It has plated metal jars with threaded caps on both ends. The rod is slightly larger than the 1/4 inch rod on my invar pendulum.

Attachments

jkfabulos

NAWCC Member
Aug 21, 2001
If you can supply detailed photos of the top and bottom frames, adjusting nut and top of rod attachment to the suspension spring I will try to identify it. I have been collecting mercury pendulums for many years and have many identified as to maker.

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
JK, I can't get any response from the attach files box right now. If you email me I can send a detailed closeup photo to you of this pendulum

H.Weiland

Deceased
Deceased
Feb 4, 2002
www.execpc.com
It looks similar to my Self Winding master clock pendulum. The screws that hold the mercury tubes in place seem different. Will check when I get home tonight. It seems to me that I was told by a former employee that S. W. C. C. pendulums came from Seth Thomas.

Hope this is of some interest.

Henry Weiland

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Thanks, Henry. I looked through my Seth Thomas books, and saw nothing similar, but there isn't much in there with mercury pendulums. It has a 4 spoke regulator on top for fine tuning. It is quite accurate. I installed it 3 weeks ago, and I haven't touched it for two weeks now, and it is only out about 1 second.

John Hubby

Senior Administrator Emeritus
Staff member
NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Life Member
Sep 7, 2000
The Woodlands, TX
Country
Region