Luman Watson tall case clock

ShadyShinju

New User
Aug 17, 2022
Country
Good morning all! I am brand new to online forums and also brand new to tall case clocks, as in, I did not even know cincinnati tall case clocks existed until I stumbled upon one in a thrift shop a few months ago. Now I am obsessed with my clock and am trying to learn as much as possible about it. I have a few questions about it. I am hoping someone will be able to guide me in the right direction...
1. The cabinet is stamped "R. GADDIS" in multiple places. This name has eluded me thus far in any references Ive looked at.
2. The glass door in the hood opens by sliding up through the pediment. Ive found no evidence it has been altered from its original construction. It even has little divots for fingers on the back side of the sliding door.Has anyone seen other contemporaneous clocks with this feature?
20220415_114724.jpg
20220817_081550.jpg
20220409_110722.jpg
20220817_100256.jpg

Thanks in advance for any info anyone can share. And apologies if Ive posted wrong/used the wrong terminology.
Have a great day, everyone!

Reactions: PatH

Jim DuBois

Gibbs Literary Award
NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Sponsor
Jun 14, 2008
Magnolia, TX
Country
Region
Nice clock! The sliding glass is a technique I have seen used in a couple of clocks from the midwest. R.Gaddis is not a clockmaker found in my files. So, I suspect he may have been the case maker. Great dial, by the way. There were more than 30 clockmakers making tall clocks in Ohio at about the time your clock was made. Is your case walnut by any chance?

PatH

NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Dec 5, 2014
Texas
Country
Region
Welcome to the Forms, and thanks for sharing your clock. Can you tell us a little about the movement of the clock - is it a wood movement? It's wonderful to learn about different makers through people sharing clocks such as yours.

Thanks again,
Pat

ShadyShinju

New User
Aug 17, 2022
Country
Hi there! Yes, it is a wooden