Looking to Upgrade my Spring Winder

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by 124Spider, Jul 19, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. 124Spider

124Spider Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Hi,

I have had a Joe Collins spring winder for some years, and am looking perhaps for something a little more like an Ollie Baker spring winder.

Specifically, I like the ratcheting winding handle, and I like the ability to use a chuck instead of the drill-style holder.

I note that Timesavers advertises one, but I don't know if it is what I want.

I'm looking for suggestions. I only work on my own clocks; I'm a rank amateur.

Thanks.

Mark

2. tracerjack

tracerjack Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 6, 2016
    Female
    Lodi, CA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    From the drawing, that's the one I have. Been very happy with it. Like you, I only do my own clocks.

3. glenhead

glenhead Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 15, 2009
    Telecom Engineer
    Williamson County, Texas
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I went through the same sequence. Made a Joe Collins and used it for about seven years. As you've no doubt seen there are some barrels it struggles with. There were also two times where the crank slipped out of my hand and smacked the bejeebers out of my thumb one time and back of my hand the other.

I finally broke down and bought an OIlie Baker a bit over a year ago. Wow, what a difference! If you can spare the money I feel that it's a very smart investment.

Be aware that there is, from my understanding, almost always a bit of a wait for an Ollie Baker. They're not mass produced, so be prepared to wait while they make one. It's entirely possible that I just ordered at the wrong time, but I'm pretty sure they said it usually takes a couple or three weeks.

Hope this helps.

Glen

124Spider likes this.
  4. 124Spider

124Spider Registered User
    NAWCC Member