SWCC Looking for some information on an SWCC Master

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by Matthew Ostrowski, May 2, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Matthew Ostrowski

Matthew Ostrowski New Member

May 2, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    This is my first post on this forum. I'm an artist who often works with old technology, and I recently came into possession of an SWCC master clock, case serial number F10186 (with an additional movement serial number 199536). The movement number (type F) is 52418. As you can see from the attached photos, the winding coils have been removed, the battery holder has been taken out, and it looks like the electrics have been fiddled with quite a bit. The pendulum, of course, is also missing.

I've done quite a bit of research online, and thanks to the efforts of Mr. Bloore and the late Mr. Weiland, I've learned a fair amount regarding the mechanism, plus a guess at its date, but I'm having difficulties laying my hands on schematics, and I'm hoping someone might be able to point me in a useful direction or give me any further information about this model. I haven't started tracing all the individual wires yet, but it looks like the relay on the right has to do with the winding, and the one on the left with synchronization. It also has a lever on the front of the mechanism that seems to engage with the second hand, so I'm guessing this model both receives and sends time synchronization?

If anyone has any information they could share with me regarding this clock, particularly the electrics, I'd very much appreciate it. I'd also like to know if anyone has any leads on where I might find replacements for the missing coils...

You recommend lots of pictures, so I've enclosed lots!

Thanks very much,

Matthew Ostrowski