Longines deck clock Cal. 24.41

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Dael, Dec 9, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Dael

Dael Registered User

Dec 9, 2015
    Country Flag:
    Hello guys,I just acquired this Longines clock Cal. 24.41 that seems very rare, with a marble socket but it is not running. I am taking it to be checked, I would appreciate any comments. 23t3tli.jpg 14xhqwy.jpg 1el9gi.jpg 5x0mtk.jpg The crystal is such a good shape and it is truly a good looking clock but Im not sure if I should fix it or leave it as it is. I also have seen a clock very similar to this one but it is identified as a marine clock, even though, my clock serial number was checked for Longines with the original marble socket and I doubt it is a marine clock.I would really be thankful for any info since I am not a watch expert. I heard that the 8-days marine clocks are rare, Is it this clock 8-days?Elías.

2. Luis Casillas

Luis Casillas Registered User

Oct 16, 2012
    Software
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi Elías,

I believe you'll get a better response to this question in either the European Pocket Watches or the Chronometers subforums. I'm not sure which subforum is best, but I'll move it to European Pocket Watches since I suspect you'll get a better response there.

3. Dael

Dael Registered User

Dec 9, 2015
    Country Flag:
    Thank you Luis,

I found also that the serial 4086712 was made around 1923, the cover is marked "261168 RC" from inside and was sold to Gathmann company in 1927. I still dont have any idea about the uses or performances of this watch.

I was reading in this forum about railroad watches and torpedo boat watches made by Longines, and watches in 18 and 16 size. Could anyone please explain what "in 18 and 16 size" means? Could I measure my clock?

Thank you.

Elías.

4. LloydB

LloydB Registered User