Longcase Clock Striking Problem

bobbyd111

Nov 18, 2017
Country
Hello location England
I have been restoring clocks for a few years now And I'm not sure what to do with this one I hope you might help me.
I have replaced the click pawls and click springs
Some previous repairer has closed up all the bushes with a hole closing punch shame I have polished up the pivots, and for now have running.
The strike is out on the rack If I set-up @ 1'oclock works fine until around 10 o'clock and then misses 1 strike
and same up until 12 o'clock
If I re-adjust so that the 10 o'clock through till 12 works The next strike at 1 o'clock strikes 2 times and same up till around 4 o'clock
I don't think that the rack tail is original, the rack teeth look to be reasonable and the snail surfaces look okay
I hope that someone may have an Idea as to what the problem is
If you need any more information or photos I can do that for you
Thank you for Looking Robert.................

20210611_103517.jpg

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
Set it at the 11:00 step. Center that one, and all the others will be right. The 11:00 step is the narrowest one on the snail.
If that doesn't work, then there's a problem with the rack tail. You might have to adjust it, or worse case, replace it.

bruce linde

ADMIN / MODERATOR
NAWCC Member
Donor
Nov 13, 2011
oakland, ca.
clockhappy.com
Country
Region
i just worked on a vienna regulator rack issue. rebushing the gathering pallet arbor helped, as did making sure the pin the rack pivots on was true and polished. this one had a broken rack that had been silver soldered back together and i had into adjust the angle of the end ever so slightly.

lots of magnification helps.

would love to see video so we could see what you’re seeing.

bobbyd111

Nov 18, 2017
Country
Hi every one, I have reset the strike on the 11 o'clock position still same fault
Attached a video of 11 o'clock strike (Don't no why no sound)