Like pulling teeth!

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by justin time, Jan 14, 2008.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. justin time

justin time Registered User

Mar 24, 2007
    This watch hobby sure is tough. I'm know, I'm new at it, but seems difficult to impossible to get information at times.

I bought a slew of books, just as much, or more tools/ equipment, and inexpensive watches to practice on. There just doesn't seem to be any source or standard to guide a novice like me. If it wasn't for the forum help at times, I could be having a fire sale on ebay.

My latest inability is to find ,or even understand PW sizes. I think I get the American sizes. But I have a couple of PW's that are 50 mm movements. I don't see that size on my American chart. I assume its European. No luck finding any size info there, other than they're mm.(I think) Forget about finding a case. I've yet to see one for sale over a size 18.

I actually need a repeater-chronograph case. (If I find one of those my next stop is lottery tickets)

Sorry for the rant, I do appreciate the help I get here.

2. Luca

Luca Registered User

Jan 19, 2004
    That's a tough one (very) - repeater chrono case. Either they already have movements in them or they're melted. Many of us are resigned to just collecting movements. The 'complete price guide' has some size info - american and european - have you looked at that?

Luca

3. John Pavlik

John Pavlik Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Dec 30, 2001
    Male
    Green Bay, Wi
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: